image description

Allergen labelling - What has changed?

With the recent changes by FSANZ on Allergen Labelling for Food Businesses - see the below new requirements for declaring allergens.

On 25 February 2024 new requirements for allergen labelling come into force as set out in Standard 1.2.3 and Schedule 9 of the Food Standards Code. These changes help people find allergen information on food labels more quickly and easily and allow them to make safe food choices. 

If a food was packaged and labelled before 25 February 2024 and it complied with the previous allergen declaration requirements, then the food can continue to be sold until 25 February 2026.  

What has changed?

What must be declared

The Food Standards Code now requires food and ingredients to be declared using certain required names, which are listed in Table 1 below. The change also means individual tree nuts, molluscs and individual cereals must all be declared separately. 

Foods and ingredients to be declared (using these names)

wheat cashew
fish hazelnut
crustacean macadamia
mollusc pecan
egg pistachio
milk pine nut
lupin walnut
peanut barley*
soy, soya & soybean oats*
sesame rye*
almond sulphites**

Brazil nut



* Barley, oats and rye must be declared if they contain gluten.  

** Sulphites must be declared when added in amounts equal to or more than 10 milligrams per kilogram of food. 

How must declarations be made

Declarations must be made in: 

  • the statement of ingredients using bold font and a font size no smaller than that used for other listed ingredients (e.g. maltodextrin (wheat), milk powder), and  
  • a separate allergen summary statement in bold font beginning with the word ‘contains' (e.g. Contains milk) located in the same field of view and directly next to the statement of ingredients.

Foods not required to display a statement of ingredients must still provide declarations elsewhere on the label (such as in a summary statement) using the required names. 

For food not required to bear a label (such as food provided at a café or takeaway), declarations must be displayed in connection with the food or provided to the purchaser upon request using the required names. 

Cereals containing gluten


As wheat (and its hybrids such as triticale) can cause allergic reactions it must be declared using the required name ‘wheat’ in the statement of ingredients and the summary statement.  

If gluten is present in the wheat, the name ‘gluten’ must also be included in the summary statement.  

Barley, oats and rye

If a food contains barley, oats or rye (or their hybrids) and contains gluten, then the required name of the cereal must be declared in the statement of ingredients and ‘gluten’ in the summary statement. 

Barley, oats or rye are not required to be declared if they are present in a form that does not contain gluten. 

To original Food Standards article & references/sources: Allergen labelling for food businesses | Food Standards Australia New Zealand
Website: Food Standards Australia New Zealand -


For more information:

Please contact our friendly staff for more information on allergen testing on: 
1800 801 312 or [email protected]